Community Oncology Alliance Elects New Officers and Board Members

Jeffrey Vacirca, viagra MD, doctor FACP of New York Cancer Specialists Elected President of COA for 2017-2018 Term

Washington, viagra sale DC – December 22, 2016 – The Community Oncology Alliance (COA) announced today that Jeffrey Vacirca, MD, FACP, CEO and managing partner/director of clinical research at New York Cancer Specialists in Long Island, New York has been elected president of COA for a one year term beginning on January 1, 2017.

“It is an honor to be elected president of the Community Oncology Alliance. As we saw clearly in 2016, COA plays a critical role in supporting and defending community oncology practices and the patients we serve,” said Dr. Vacirca. “I look forward to working with the entire oncology community to advance initiatives that improve our nation’s cancer care system, including cancer care payment and delivery reform such as the Oncology Medical Home (OMH) and the Oncology Care Model (OCM); continued examination of the broken 340B Drug Discount Program; ensuring Pharmacy Benefits Managers (PBMs) do not restrict patient access to care and treatment; and more.”

In addition to Dr. Vacirca, new Executive Committee officers and members of the Board of Directors were elected.

“On behalf of the COA Executive Committee, I want to welcome the new and continuing Board members and thank them for their service,” said incoming COA Vice President Michael Diaz, MD of Florida Cancer Specialists & Research Institute. “Their leadership ensures that COA will continue to see success in its mission of ensuring that all Americans have access to high quality, affordable cancer care in their communities.”

COA is a non-profit, 501.c.6 organization overseen by community oncologists. COA has an elected Executive Committee of Officers that reports to a volunteer Board of Directors who direct its management by an Executive Director and staff.

COA Board of Directors Elections:

The following individuals were elected by the COA Board to serve another term on the Board of Directors:

  • Bobbi Buell (CA)
  • Stuart Genshaw (MI)
  • Todd O’Connell (NY)
  • Kashyap Patel, MD (SC)
  • Marissa Rivera (CA)

The following individuals are elected by the COA Board to serve a first-time term on the Board of Directors:

  • Steve D’Amato, MD (ME)
  • Chancellor David, MD (LA)
  • Lucio Gordon, MD (FL)
  • Ed Graham (NY)
  • Ed Licitra, MD (NJ)

Two current COA Board members, Kim Roddy (MD) and Scott Tetreault, MD (FL), will be leaving the Board. COA would like to express its sincere thanks to both Ms. Roddy and Dr. Tetreault for their time and service to community oncology. Their active involvement in COA is greatly appreciated.

As per the COA by-laws, all Director positions are 3-year terms effective January 1, 2017 and terminating on December 31, 2019. With these elections and changes, there are 35 Board members, which is the maximum allowed under the current COA Bylaws.

COA Executive Committee Officer Elections:

The following individuals were elected to serve as officers of COA and on the Executive Committee:

  • Jeffrey Vacirca, MD (President)
  • Michael Diaz, MD (Vice President and Secretary)
  • Ricky Newton (Treasurer; ex officio)
  • Bruce Gould, MD (Immediate Past President)
  • Mark Thompson, MD (Past President)
  • David Eagle, MD (Past President)
  • Mac Barnes, MD (Past President)
  • Miriam Atkins, MD (Officer-at-Large)
  • Kashyap Patel, MD (Officer-at-Large)
  • Ted Okon (Executive Director; ex officio)

As per the COA by-laws, all officer positions are one-year terms terminating on December 31, 2017. As full-time employees of COA, Messrs. Okon and Newton serve as non-voting members on the Executive Committee.